Sleep

I went to bed expecting to feel exhausted in the morning, and low and behold, I was.  Did I set myself up the night before by going to be after 2:00 a.m.? Of course!  Nonetheless, here I sit thinking about the benefits of sleep.

I have always been one that believed sleep was for people who were not driven and goal-oriented.  Age is the great equalizer, isn’t it?  I have spent the better part of the morning trying not to hit my head on the computer monitor before me.  This morning, my body reminded me (not so subtly) that I am getting over an upper respiratory infection AND that I am no longer a twenty-something, with endless resilliency.  Yikes.

So what are the experts saying about the benefits of sleep?  “It may not be surprising that it is more difficult to take in new information following a night of inadequate or disturbed sleep.  In studies of humans and other animals, they have discovered that sleep plays a critical role in immune function, metabolism, memory, learning, and other vital functions.”

All of that to say I have learned my lesson and am passing it along to you, GO TO SLEEP.

http://healthysleep.med.harvard.edu/healthy/matters/benefits-of-sleep 

Leave a Reply

